Peter Diamandis


Dr. Peter H. Diamandis, M.D., is the Chairman and CEO of the X PRIZE Foundation, a nonprofit organization that designs and launches global incentive prizes to drive radical breakthroughs for the benefit of humanity. Best known for the $10 million Ansari X PRIZE for private spaceflight, the Foundation is now launching prizes in: Exploration, Life Sciences, Energy & Environment, Education, and Global Development.

Dr. Diamandis is also an international leader in the commercial space arena, having founded and run many of the leading entrepreneurial companies in this sector. Dr. Diamandis serves as Co-Founder & Co-Chairman of Planetary Resources, the world’s first asteroid mining company. He also serves as Co-Founder & Vice-Chairman of Space Adventures, Co-Founder of Zero Gravity Corporation, and Chairman & Co-Founder of the Rocket Racing League.

In 2008, Dr. Diamandis co-founded the Singularity University where he serves as Vice-Chancellor and Chairman. In 1987, he co-founded the International Space University (ISU) where he served as the University’s first Managing Director. Prior to ISU, Dr. Diamandis founded and chaired the Students for the Exploration and Development of Space.

Dr. Diamandis attended the MIT where he received his undergraduate degree in molecular genetics and graduate degree in aerospace engineering. After MIT, he attended Harvard Medical School where he received his M.D. In 2005, he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the International Space University.

Dr. Diamandis is the best-selling author of Abundance: The Future is Better Than You Think. The book hit number 1 on Amazon and number 2 on the New York Times bestsellers list where it remained for 9 weeks. His mission is to open the space frontier for humanity and his personal motto is: “The best way to predict the future is to create it yourself!”

Selected Awards:
No Boundaries Award, The Economist, 2010

Heinlein Award, 2006

Lindberg Award, 2006

RAVE Award, WIRED, 2006

Neil Armstrong Award for Aerospace Achievement and Leadership, 2006

World Technology Award for Space, 2003

See Also: 
Peter Diamandis